Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paulaaruggiero

Newbie here! Some tree (crape myrtle) help please!

paulaaruggiero
8 years ago

Hi all! I'm new here - thanks for having me! I live in central NC (zone 8) and I want to plant some pretty trees along the sides of my fence. After doing a decent amount of research, I've decided on crape myrtles, I think. :) I don't necessarily need shade, and some privacy would be nice, but I don't want them growing waaaaaay over my fence, lest my neighbors complain. I am looking at Cherokee and Hopi. What do you think? I'd prefer quicker growing, of course, but also fungus/mildew resistant. Here's a pic of my fence line in the back! Thanks in advance!!

Comments (15)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    8 years ago

i dont do CMs ...

but let me tell you .. no tree .. nor shrub.. ever stops growing at some magical height ...when they get up to or past the height you prefer ... you learn how to maintain them.. thru pruning ...

and anything called 'fast growing' .... is going to shoot right past your preferred height ... so there is a real catch 22 there ...

below is a link to a planting guide ... so when the other folks name the plants you should try ... you have a heads up about planting them ....

good luck

ken

https://sites.google.com/site/tnarboretum/Home/planting-a-tree-or-shrub

• paulaaruggiero
    Original Author
    8 years ago

Thanks!!

• Toronado3800 Zone 6 St Louis
    8 years ago

Crapes are fine. May I suggest planting more than one species of bush/tree. That way if a mysterious Turkish Crape borer springs up you suddenly aren't left without. Learn from the mistakes made at the Gateway Arch grounds where they planted all Ash trees and the Chestnut monoculture mistake before that.

In my zone viburnums are similar to Crapes as both are shrub like here.

• paulaaruggiero
    Original Author
    8 years ago

Awesome, thank you!

• sowen18
    8 years ago