Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
koolkat1358

Fumes from waterproofing project won't go away. Help!

koolkat1358
7 years ago

The 1st level of my condo is a few feet underground with cinder block walls up to window level inside (about 3 feet up). 2 weeks ago the underground part of my building was waterproofed from outside. I don't know what materials they used. It looked like tar. I'm only a novice DIY home improvement gal. Now, the fumes are leaching through the cinder blocks. I'd already painted most of them with concrete paint but there are parts behind a wall of custom cupboards & drawers that are difficult or impossible to get to. That's where the smell originated.
It's October in Michigan. I can't leave the windows open too long & once they're shut the space is saturated by fumes within hours. I live with my mom. She has the upstairs, I have the downstairs. I'm exiled from my living space, miserable, kind of desperate. My budget for this problem is about $200. Any & all advice is welcome. I'm counting on you guys. Thanks in advance.

Comments (17)

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    7 years ago

You aren't getting fumes from exterior water proofing.

• koolkat1358
    Original Author
    7 years ago

Aw. What seriously disappointing first & only response.

Yes, it definitely is fumes from the tar that was put on the outside of my building. It took me a week to figure it out. I did patch smell tests & had 4 other people confirm which patch the smell was coming from. Then I crawled in the dirt outside & smelled the base of my condo because this problem is making me a crazy person.

Ive ruled out CO & other gasses. That's all been tested via fire dept. I just didn't want to get into all this in my first post.

This smell makes me sick. Headaches, dizziness, nausea, muscle spasms. It gave my mom's dog a seizure. So... again, any suggestions please on how to eliminate these fumes & prevent them from continuing to leach through the wall.

• Tim Walker
    7 years ago