Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashe_p

I need help identifying two cacti I bought recently.

ashe_p
7 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

I purchased a couple of cacti from my local supermarket a couple of weeks ago and have been trying to find out all I can about them but with very little luck. I'm new to cacti and succulents and am finding it increasingly confusing trying to differentiate between species.

Also there is a possibility that both of them may be infested(?) with bugs of some description and I'd love any help and tips on what the bugs may be and how I can get rid of them without harming the cactus.

Any help identifying this one? It has patches of what I assume are eggs in the soil. Yellowish and slightly fluffy/fuzzy coating protecting the eggs. This picture was taken the day that I bought the cactus and the soil seemed fine but...

This was taken today. Excuse the quality of the picture but it was difficult to get close enough with only a phone camera. Circled in red are the egg deposits, circled in yellow are what I would guess is mould? It's white and web-like and has only come up in the last couple of days.

This is the other one I purchased. Again, any help identifying it would be greatly appreciated. The little spiny bits right at the tip of each of the 'fingers' have started to grow quite pale and there seems to be new ones trying to push through? I honestly haven't a clue.

This one I'm not sure whether it's infested or not. There was a little spider that had made a home on the soil but whether that was just a random bug or one that could cause harm, I have no idea. It's a tiny little thing with a red/orange butt and black legs.

The soil on this one is as it was when I purchased it, no signs of eggs or mould though I can't really tell due to the shape of the cactus.

Bare in mind that I live in the UK. Please, please, please help me out! I do so very much love my cacti and would love to learn more about them and how to better care for them.