Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shannonkelli

Warm vs cool tones. Amateur question.

Shannonkelli
7 years ago

Hi! My husband and I bought our first home about six months ago and I'm still learning how all this works and finding my personal style. Most of my house is Revere pewter and it's an open floor plan. Since it's a greige, do I stick to either grays or tans in all of the bedrooms to create flow? Can I do a warm paint color in the living room but a cool color in the kitchen that is visible from the living room? If I go more yellow beige in the kitchen do I have to stay with warm accents? I want to stay neutral for my wall color but from room to room, do I stay all warm or all cool? I would love to paint the my baby's room a light tan but my hallway is more of a cool gray. Any advice is helpful!

Comments (14)

• User
    7 years ago
    last modified: 7 years ago

I'd suggest heading to Maria Killam's blog and do a bunch of reading. Lots of good info.

• deegw
    7 years ago

So much depends on your space and light so painting large samples in your spaces is key. I love Sherwin WIlliams paint palettes for helping to pick colors that flow from room to room. Pinterest is also a good source.

Paint palettes

• Jane
    7 years ago

You can absolutely switch up colors. Make sure all colors together create a pleasing palette. Get the larger paint samples (about 3"x4") and fan out your choices and see if you like them together.

Often if you match saturation levels and keep saturation somewhat subdued, you can change up hue and lightness as long as the colors are different enough from each other.

• aprilneverends
    7 years ago

What everybody said..))

Also, "warm" and "cool" are relative terms to a big extent..we can judge the warmness and the coolness(can you say that?) of the colors only in comparison to one another. So there are cool reds and warm blues for example..and you can always find warmer shade or cooler shade in every color..endlessly.