Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nemodat

Looking for feedback on my first Ikea kitchen plan.

Peter
6 years ago

Hi everyone, I'm new to GW but I have learned a ton here this year. I'd really appreciate any feedback on my final draft plans for the Ikea kitchen I've planned, whether it be layout or the particular Ikea pieces chosen. A few points to note:

1. The plumbing has to be on or near the west wall, hence the location of the sink and DW.

2. The north-east corner is intentionally missing a corner cabinet because (according to Ikea) it won't be possible because the standard corner base cabinet would conflict with the adjacent stove.

3. I'm unhappy with the gap the cabinet above the fridge, and the wall cabinet to the north, so hoping for advice on that point.

4. I haven't figured out how to add countertop to the dishwasher.

I've tried to attach plans to this post, but I've uploaded screenshots of my design to imgur here: https://imgur.com/a/2gosa

Thanks so much,
Pete

Comments (20)

• Peter
    Original Author
    6 years ago

mama goose, thanks for your feedback and alternate layout, much appreciated. I'll have to look into the additional cost of moving the plumbing, but I love the picture you posted from mathteacher -- I didn't know that type of arrangement was possible.

• rantontoo
    6 years ago

You need to allow at least three inches of filler in corners so drawers do not hit the handles of other cabs...this applies to a range oven also. I do not see the needed fillers on your plan.

• Peter
    Original Author
    6 years ago

Rantontoo: not sure if your comment is specific to the Ikea planner, but I was told by an Ikea KD this week that the planner automatically takes this into account, while she was reviewing my plans.

• sheloveslayouts
    6 years ago

What's happening in the red circled area? Is this an eat-in kitchen; you have no dining room?