Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
edennerose

Are my cucumbers too crowded?

Ingrid
5 years ago

Hi. I have 4 vines growing on a trellis that is 32”x48”. It is centered across 3 squares. According to all the information I can find this should be plenty of space, but they just started expanding very radidly (they were just a few inches tall 2 weeks ago), and the long tendrils keep latching onto nearby tomato and basil plants. One of them started leaning backwards towards my fence several feet away. In just one night it almost made ot the entire way! I keep putting then back on the trellis, weaving them in and out if they’re stubborn about making a run for it. This is my first time growing them and they’re just so large! They all seem to be growing well and each are covered in flowers. Should I pull one or two or leave as is? Pic for reference. TIA!

Comments (19)

• daninthedirt (USDA 9a, HZ9, CentTX, Sunset z30, Cfa)
    5 years ago
    last modified: 5 years ago

You could decide that you have too many plants, or you could decide that your trellis is too small. I would just put stakes in the ground a foot or so away from and on each side of the trellis, and run a few strings to the trellis. Make the trellis bigger. Your main problem may just be self-shading.

• Ingrid
    Original Author
    5 years ago

Unfortunately making the trellis bigger isn’t an option as this is a squarefoot Garden and there’s already established plants surrounding the cucumbers. And moving around the bed would be impossible if I let the plants leave the container entirely. Sounds to me like you’re saying that’s that they are probably too crowded?

5 years ago