Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cocohuang01

new build, what to upgrade and what not to upgrade with builder?

d d
5 years ago
last modified: 5 years ago

This is my first time buying a new house, so the process of choosing what to upgrade and what not to, what materials goes with what is overwhelming to me.

Here are some upgrade items not sure if I should upgrade with builder, or if I shouldn't upgrade at all, e.g. the glass cabinets in the kitchen

• Undercabinet puck lights ($1980, 4 double doors, 3 single doors)?
  • Glass cabinets in servery area and glass shelves and inside pucklights($1500, 4 glass doors and shelves)?
  • Having 24x24 tiles in the mud room ($800), maybe I should just go with default 12x12 tiles which does not cost me?
  • Ensuite, floor tiles has same tile but of different size, i.e. 24x24 pocelin vs 24x12, porcelainnow designer choose 24x24 for me, if I were to go with 24x12, it will save me $400
  • Hardwood floor? a low level oak (3 1/4'') ($8000 for 720sf). people say it could be cheaper if I do hardwood floor later on.

Here are some items I am on the edge of to upgrade of not (I've went over my budge):

• Staircase from main floor to basement ($4800)? I chose a circular open to above and below style stair, for now, I only asked to finish the circular staircase from main floor to 2nd floor
  • Powder room tub or shower? I added a tub to powder room ($3100), if I should upgrade to shower (another $2000)
  • 2nd floor 9ft ceiling ($5200)

Another question I am debating is if I should put hardwood floor or 24x24 tile in the kitchen and breakfast area? This area is connected to my family room.

Any suggestions will be appreciated. Thank you.

Comments (10)

• armchairshopper
    5 years ago

The one item that will make the most difference in your resale and your daily enjoyment of the house would be the powder room tub or shower.

d d thanked armchairshopper
  • lizziesma
    5 years ago