Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
susan_congdon32

Help with curb appeal and hidden front door

Susan Congdon
5 years ago
last modified: 5 years ago

We recently bought this house in the San Fernando Valley. I'm running into a couple issues with the front.

1. We'd like to increase curb appeal. We are planning to add a horizontal fence along the front and left side of the yard. We are also planning a porch and pergola along the house at end of driveway.

2. Our front door is somewhat hidden. It faces the street but in an alcove between the main house and garage. I want to add a pathway to the door somehow and paint the door a bright color.

This is my first house and I'm not very good at planning things without seeing them visually. Please help!

Comments (28)

• decoenthusiaste
    5 years ago

If you move the cars out of the way and take new pix, someone will probably do a mock up for you.

Susan Congdon thanked decoenthusiaste
  • kitasei
    5 years ago

Why is the car parked at your doorstep rather than in the driveway?

Susan Congdon thanked kitasei
  • partim
    5 years ago

Also, please take pictures that enlarge when we click on them, and take them from different angles. That one is too small to see much.

Why do you need a fence? Will you really use a porch that faces the street?

It would be helpful if you saved some ideas in your idea books, so we can see what appeals to you.

Susan Congdon thanked partim
  • PRO
    Yardvaark
    5 years ago

I agree that new pictures are needed ... but not taken from different angles. Instead, you need to remove the cars so that we can see what it is that you are asking us about (street appeal for the entrance), and then show the COMPLETE SCENE, not just the central section. With camera in hand, stand on the city walk at left side of drive. From that position take 3 slightly overlapping photos that pan from left to right lot lines. Before taking them, make sure the camera is set to take decent sized photos.