Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kurchian

Beginner dahlia plants?

kurchian
5 years ago

To date I have only grown "annual" dahlias from 6 packs. This year I’d like to try some of the larger varieties from tubers.

Are certain varieties easier to grow and maintain? I’d appreciate recommendations for varieties I can grow here in New England.

Comments (9)

• popmama (Colorado, USDA z5)
    5 years ago

I'm no expert at all. But my stock recommendation is to not spend a lot of money on your first go with anything new. Just buy some inexpensive dahlia tubers at Walmart or Costco. Or just a select few at your local garden center. Try them and see how you do with them. I think, in general, they grow pretty easily. The challenge comes if you want to keep the tubers year to year. I have yet to succeed there. Don't be scared, just go for it! Pick ones you like!

• mad_gallica (z5 Eastern NY)
    5 years ago

For years I grew a lemon yellow dahlia I picked up at one of the Connecticut plant swaps, as well as some Bishop's Children I grew from seed. So long as you have plenty of sun, they aren't at all difficult plants. The trick is getting them through the winter. I used to just put them in paper bags in the crawlspace, then put them in pots about now. The crawlspace is cool and damp, but not terribly so.

So long as you start with the understanding that you may not get a second year out of them, buy what you like.

• cloud_9
    5 years ago

dahlias are pretty easy to grow - as long as you stake them. To overwinter, I like to cut down/dig up after a killing frost, rinse off dirt, let dry for a day, then wrap in plastic wrap, put in a labeled and unsealed plastic bag and put them upright in a cooler that lives in a cool place in my basement. The second season you can just plant the whole thing. Once you have some success overwintering you can decide if you want to divide your tubers.

5 years ago

Ooh I am saving all these tips for next time I try tuber storage!