Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_426781610

Help with home exterior

Stacey Martin
5 years ago

Hello! Newbie here!

We just became first home owners, the interior of the new home is amazing! It looks small from the outside but on the inside it’s huge, 4 bed, 2 bath, 2 living, dining etc etc.

the only issue is the exterior.

It looks old, underdone and underwhelming. The house is flat at the front, no porch, nothing giving it texture.

The front garden is a MESS & we plan on clearing a lot of it out and laying grass. i Was considering hedging? not sure yet.

But im adding a photo of the exterior and seeing if anyone had some advice on how to make it look less “dated” it’s literally the oldest looking house on the street, all the others look amazing, clean and new

Comments (8)

• raee_gw zone 5b-6a Ohio
    5 years ago

Assuming that the other homes on the street are of similar age, style and construction, can you zero in on what makes you feel they look new? Is it the landscaping, the style of window or door, the exterior colors? Could you snap a photo of one or two that you particularly like and post here?

Is your current house color painted or is it brick? (kind of blurry when I try to enlarge it, so I can't tell) If brick, perhaps a more distinctive MCM door with all trim painted a navy blue, or a strong gray, and the door a medium strong blue color. Enlarge your step up to the door into a true patio/porch area, either wood or pavers, with a modern pergola (I did a Bing search for "Mid century modern pergola" and saw some good inspiration photos)

Keep us posted on what you end up doing, please!

• Stacey Martin
    Original Author
    5 years ago

Thanks for the advice! Our new house is a few years older then the rest of the houses on the street, ours was the first on the street, there wasn’t even a road before ours, it was developed after. Does that make sense? I hope it does haha.