Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_986732919

Structural Engineer or No?

HU-986732919
4 years ago

My husband and I would like to remove part of a load bearing wall in our two story 1,800 square foot house. He (my husband) insists we don’t need a structural engineer and the contractor he knows has done this “enough times” to know what hes doing. (my point of view is while I’m sure he’s competent he doesn’t necessarily specialize in this although he has done it before. But having done it before doesn’t translate to knowing the weight of the 2nd floor and the load that the foundation can bear for our particular home).

Obviously I would prefer to save the money but I’m not sure that it trumps my comfort level when it comes to this which seems to me like a major modification. I think I could be talked into it but I need more lines of evidence. I’m just an environmental scientist and know nothing about construction.

So I guess what I’m really looking for is more of a poll of “what would you do” in this situation.

Comments (18)

• HU-986732919
    Original Author
    4 years ago

https://ibb.co/pZqjZrt

https://ibb.co/B3vwvDk

Tried to upload pictures but I’m not sure that it worked, pictures are linked above.

• PRO
    RappArchitecture
    4 years ago

Hire a structural engineer on a consulting basis (i.e. hourly with a cap). You will feel better

• branson4020
    4 years ago

Engineers tend to overthink this stuff ;-) Experienced contractors do this all the time. He will know if the permitting authority requires a structural engineer's approval.

• worthy
    4 years ago

As a licenced renovator, I opened up the first floor five times on my own houses.

But no matter how confident I was, I wouldn't touch a client's home in the same way without a structural engineer's inspection/design first.

• DavidR
    4 years ago