Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
four_gw

chili : two shapes on same stem

Maybe a common occurrence?

Some common variety I'm sure.

Please pardon ignorance; plant given to me when it was small, and I am new to chilis.

Comments (31)

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
    3 years ago

No cause for concern, this is a common occurrence. I often see a few "mini's" or malformed peppers, with the rest of the peppers on the plant growing normally.

four (9B near 9A) thanked zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
  • four (9B near 9A)
    Original Author
    3 years ago

Unworried.

What kind?

• CA Kate z9
    3 years ago

It looks like it could be one of the several varieties of Jalapenos.

• four (9B near 9A)
    Original Author
    3 years ago
    last modified: 3 years ago

In that case, the bottom one certainly is ready. The biggest looks ready; if it is, then the second also may be ready because it is older. What do you think?

• robert567
    3 years ago

They are all ready to eat, red or green at full size. The deformed red one is probably "over the hill" but you can try it, it won't kill you but most would just toss it. People eat Jalapeno type chilis green all of the time. Red ones are fine to eat, except Jalapenos get softer and often get those ugly brown markings.

• four (9B near 9A)
    Original Author
    3 years ago

> "They are all ready to eat, red or green at full size" __ I will not know whether any of those green ones has reached full size until it turns red.

• robert567
    3 years ago

I admit to be prejudged against the ugly runt peppers. If people want to buy those, they can.

As far as "full size", you guess on what they are, which unfortunately you are not sure which type, but they may not get much bigger than the biggest green one now. Let one stay on the plant, see when it start to turns red, then you will have an idea. You can eat the little ones, but walls will be thinner, taste may not be developed.

• four (9B near 9A)
    Original Author
    3 years ago