Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kla257

New to houzz and starting a HUGE renovation

Kendelle A
last year
last modified: last year

Hi! I'm new to houzz and home renovation. My husband and I are embarking on a huge renovation of our small farmhouse because of extensive mold. We will be gutting the entire house and moving rooms and finishing the attic to make a space for our children. I see most of the posts here have very professional and clear floor plans, can you recommend a website to make one of these?

Comments (11)

• Mary Elizabeth
    last year

@Kendelle A,

If you give more details to the background of your situation, you might get more help.

"Extensive mold" is a huge red flag. Did you recently purchase this property? Was the mold disclosed? (If not, legal action may be appropriate.)

Or is a property you inherited? Is there sentimental value?

Or is a property that you already owned, and you've recently become aware of the mold issue?

Check your homeowner's insurance to know if you have any coverage for mitigation in your situation.

Remodeling can often times be more expensive than building new, so gutting the entire house, PLUS dealing with mold - what are you really saving?

Maybe a good first step would be to contact someone in your city or county's public health department for input and direction.

• btydrvn
    last year

In cases like yours…experimenting on graph paper would be a good place to start to see how much you think you can do with the space you have…this will help you to know better if you may need to add ….beyond the existing layout…it seems to me that an architect would be the first expert to consult after firming up a list of your needs….

• btydrvn
    last year

Keep in mind that the children’s needs …and yours….change over time…privacy being one of major things that may evolve..

• Jennifer Hogan
    last year