Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deltanut

12/3 Wire with 2 circuits to power Kitchen Island Appliances

deltanut
last year

I have an electrician that installed a single 12/3 line with 2 circuits to a new kitchen island with the intent to power a dishwasher, a microwave drawer, a garbage disposal, and 2 electrical outlets - all new appliances and outlets. I have no electrical knowledge, but concerned that this will not be sufficient or to code. Is this acceptable and/or common?

Thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge.

Comments (15)

• deltanut
    Original Author
    last year

I am being told that the 12/3 wire can be split into 2 separate 20 amp circuits via 2 breakers together in the panel.

• catbuilder
    last year

HU, check your facts. The electrician isn't installing a single wire, they are installing a single cable. Yes, it is physically possible to wire 2 separate circuits with 12/3 cable.

OP, are you sure that the electrician intends to power the dishwasher, disposal, and built-in microwave with this same cable? Those appliances should all be on their own dedicated circuits. Then you need two separate circuits for the receptacles.

• catbuilder
    last year

The two HU's are incorrect. A 12/3 cable can be installed on two breakers, with the breakers on opposite legs of the 240V line.

• deltanut
    Original Author
    last year

Catbuilder - thank you for clarifying. Yes, there is only one 12/3 cable/wire to power all of the items - dishwasher, microwave, garbage disposal, and 2 outlets. This seems like a lot of power needs for this single 12/3 wire/cable.

• catbuilder
    last year
    last modified: last year

It's two circuits, but it's not to code as all built-in appliances should have their own dedicated circuit. Are you having it inspected? Is the refrigerator on a separate circuit? Do you have other receptacles on circuits other than these?

Why is your electrician not providing separate circuits for these appliances?

• deltanut