Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sb_naz

Help needed! Redesigning U-shaped kitchen

sb_naz
last month

Hello! This is my first time posting, but I've been reading Kitchen discussions here for the past 2 years as I've been contemplating my own renovation and really value the advice this community has to offer. We moved to our house about 2.5 years ago and we're finally preparing to renovate the very outdated original kitchen. This is the current layout:

This layout is really not working for our family - I have 3 young kids and we cook pretty much all of our meals at home. We also have in-laws living with us about 50% of the time, so the kitchen gets a lot of use. The U-shape makes it difficult for more than 1 person to actively use the kitchen at a time. I also don't like having the cooktop on the peninsula for safety and aesthetic reasons.

I have had several different ideas for kitchen layouts over time, but right now what I'm leaning towards is doing this L-shaped kitchen with a large island:

I realize I'm losing cabinet storage with this redesign, but we'll also be adding a pantry into an existing 5x6-ish sized wet bar area that is going unused in the family room next door. I'd really value others' suggestions for my kitchen layout - Is there something that will work better than the L-shaped ktichen? What direction do you recommend orienting the island and how do I determine the size of the island? Have I missed thinking of something?? Thank you in advance!!

Comments (17)

• PRO
    JAN MOYER
    last month

Better drawings?

Better if you could eek it out

• sb_naz
    Original Author
    last month

Thanks Jan Moyer! I had considered putting the fridge along that wall, but whatever is there will be visible from the front door (since the wall leading to the foyer is a little shorter than the back wall of the kitchen), and I thought it would look strange for a fridge to be the first thing you spot in the kitchen. Thoughts?

• Jenny
    last month