Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tharp

Need ideas for Landscape under windows!

tharp
last month

Our son and daughter-in-law just bought this house. To the left are three small windows about 7’ from the ground. Please help us with landscaping ideas!

Comments (18)

• M. Vogel
    last month

Some planting are definitely needed! Im not a designer but have you tried a garden center? :)

• laceyvail 6A, WV
    29 days ago
    last modified: 29 days ago

Are they planning to enlarge the windows? That would be my first priority.

As to general rules for foundation plantings, don't plant under the overhang--yours is quite deep. Establish beds--you have none, just plants stuck in the grass--quite deep front to back and place plants beyond the overhang. If those tiny, high windows are going to remain, I'd plan for mostly large shrubs in deep beds. For example, a shrub that is going to get 6 feet wide should be placed 3 feet out from where the overhang stops. You'll also want to be sure not to overwhelm the house.

• tharp
    Original Author
    29 days ago

Thank you so much for your input. Unfortunately, larger windows are not in their budget. I’ve also thought about not overwhelming the house, so the type of shrub/evergreen is important. They will definitely establish beds on both sides. Should there be three evergreens? One under each window? Any particular evergreen come to mind?

• dan1888
    29 days ago
    last modified: 29 days ago

4 column arborvitae between the windows. In my MI location, Costco is just now bringing in to store for pickup their yearly offerings of good height examples. $35/ea. $5 less than last year. Thuja Emerald Green Arborvitae, 2-pack | Costco You can keep them trimmed.

• cecily 7A
    29 days ago

For meaningful plant suggestions you need to tell us an approximate location (nearest big city & state).

Personally I dislike the row of pointy shrubs. I'd choose rounded shapes.

• Claudianne Young
    29 days ago

Perhaps ornamental grasses ?