Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
organic_mamag

keeping tomatoes in freezer until canning

organic_mamag
15 years ago

Hi there! I'm new to gardening and canning. I've been reading this morning about canning tomatoes and the more I read, the more overwhelmed I get.

First of all, as my tomatoes ripen, I thought I'd throw them in the freezer to collect until I get enough to can. Should I wash and core them first? Should I mix varieties or keep them separate?

Also, I know about the whole thing with BWB or pressure canning to heat process. I have a BWB set up (I've already done 3 batches of pickles) and was planning to do that. But now I read that it might be bad for my electric stove because of the 85 minutes it takes to process. Huh? I can't afford to go out and spend $60 on a pressure canner right now (or even for a few months). I'm starting to wonder if this is even going to work. Will this ruin my stove? Should I keep all of these tomatoes in my freezer until Christmas when I will hopefully get a pressure canner? I only have a small above-the-fridge freezer. UGH!

I'm getting frustrated and discouraged. Help!

Comments (18)

• marymd7
    15 years ago

Freezing and then canning really does not seem like a good use of time and resources to me. Nor will it do anything to improve the quality of your end product. IMO, you're over-complicating this food preservation business.

My advice?

Eat as many fresh tomatoes as possible. Enjoy produce while it's in season.

To save freezer space, throw all of your tomatoes in a big roasting pan (yes, mix varieties, it doesn't matter). Roast them in the oven at medium heat. After about a half hour, remove some of the excess water by draining it off with a ladle to hurry the process along a bit. Roast the tomatoes until they collapse and thicken. Puree through a food mill (which will also remove skins and seeds). Further reduce the sauce by roasting some more, or just put in freezer containers and freeze.