Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
teddychicago

Daffodils and summer bulbs

teddychicago
15 years ago

Hi,

I am a newbie gardener living in northwest suburban Chicago.

I have a large bed of naturalized daffodils in the front of my house. Every year the foliage wilts and turns yellow. I have nothing coming up to hide it. It looks pretty bad to me. Plus, the area has gotten very shady over the last few years.

I would love to plant some summer- or later spring- flowering bulbs so they will hide the daffodil foliage. But I am afraid for the following reasons:

1. Most bulbs I see require full sun. This area only gets some sun in the morning. It's mostly dappled sun until the afternoon, when it's all shady.

2. How would I even plant the bulbs? Do I need to dig up all the daffodils and then layer the new bulbs on top? Can I just stick in the bulbs between the daffodil clumps?

3. WHEN would I even plant the new bulbs? Home Depot has their summer flowing bulbs at 50% right now. Can I buy those and plant them now, hoping for them to show next year?

4. What bulbs would do a good job of hiding foliage? The bed is C shaped around a birch tree so if I put tall plants in the back, they wouldn't hide the daff foliage. If I put them in the front, then it'd look like a fence?

THanks for any insight.

Comments (3)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    15 years ago

I don't know your climate, but here we can plant day lilies with the daffodils and they will cover the daffs dying foliage. The day lilies don't appear until after the daffs have bloomed. Both are hardy for us. We could also use Asiatic lilies but they are not as effective at screening and their foliage is not very attractive. Al

• duluthinbloomz4
    15 years ago