Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blazepepper

Winter Planting Metro Atlanta

blazepepper
16 years ago

I am very new to veggie gardening, but am really getting the fever. I recently read that hear in Metro Atlanta, GA, that in Late February , I could plant veggies such as

English peas, onions, asparagus, and elephant garlic, and have harvest by spring time. Any info on this would be great. how would they survive if a frost hits? Should I plant from seeds, or are small seedlings available?? Could

i plant any of these in containers> Also, I usually buy form Home Depot or Lowes in the Spring, and they dont have anything available right now, any source info would be helpful as well. thanks so much

bobby

Comments (8)

• anney
    16 years ago

blazepepper

I refer to the link below (PDF file) quite often to help me decide when to plant things. You're quite right. The time is approaching when we can plant some things as long as we use our common sense.

Most of the early Springsters must be planted as seeds, though asparagus is almost always bought as plants. Many brassica seeds (cabbage, kale, broccoli, etc.) can be started soon. You can plant onion starts or seeds. I don't know how much frost or freezing the young starts can take since they have to spend some energy rooting before they start growing, but the seeds will come up with enough light, some warmth, and moisture, and once they're up, they're pretty hardy against everything but hard freezes.

You can plant English peas soon, as well as lettuce. Take a look at the chart below. It'll give you some information about what you can plant when.

Here is a link that might be useful: Middle Georgia Planting Guide PDF

• farmerdilla
    16 years ago