Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nishklepp

I don't know what happened to my peppers

nishklepp
10 years ago

I'm not sure what's going on with my peppers. The picture posted is of my bell pepper plant. I also have a small hot banana and jalape�o plant that look the same... "tired" or "dying". The leaves are not brown. I've been watering every other day. They're kept in the sun for most of the day (6+ hours). I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I'm completely new to vegetable gardening. I read as much as I can and I really thought I was doing everything right. Any input would be much appreciated.

Comments (10)

• nishklepp
    Original Author
    10 years ago

This is my jalapeno plant
    {{gwi:31952}}
    And my banana pepper
    {{gwi:31953}}

• CaraRose
    10 years ago

Soil looks really wet, overwatered maybe? Root rot?

• 2ajsmama
    10 years ago

Definitely a root problem - bell pepper pot looks wet, can't tell with jal, banana looks like lots of bark so maybe dry. Do you have the same mix in all the pots, and what is it? I'd pull them out and get them in new pots with soil-less mix ASAP.

Though I don't know - how long ago did you put them in those pots, and when did you move them outside? If they were just repotted in the past couple of days with proper mix, it could just be transplant stress, but they're REALLY stressed. If the mix is draining well (but not running right through - like I said the banana pepper looks like a lot of bark), try holding off on watering, move them into the shade for a few days and see if they perk up.

• Ohiofem 6a/5b Southwest Ohio
    10 years ago

I agree that it's probably a root issue. That potting mix looks odd. Did you mulch with wood chips or mix it into the soil? If so, what kind? Another possibility might be fertilizer burn or exposure to weed killer drift.

• nishklepp
    Original Author
    10 years ago