Houzz Logo Print
mesho_gw

spider plant baby problem

mesho
11 years ago

hello all

this is my first time I write to you

I have a really problem with spider plant babies

I have a spider plant with babies and the babies have good roots . I cut one off it's mother and put it in the soil (which is peat moss only)

I know that over-watering will cause root rot

so I have sprayer now and I spray the leaves of baby at morning and at night everyday . this will make the soil wet not soggy

the weather is so hot about 34 degree Celsius

I put the baby in bright area

no direct sunlight

even I do this but I feel that it will die

please help me .. there is no baby continued living with me I don't know what is the wrong

my questions are :

Is the soil type I used (peat moss) alone sufficient to it?

or I have to add another type of soil ?

Is my watering way good? or I should let it dry too much before watering again?

I see like it is wilting . is this due to the hot weather?

please look at the picture and tell me what should I do?

I wrote to you because there is no baby alive with all my attempts until now and the reason is unknown to me

thank you

Comments (9)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    11 years ago

Do you have a little bit of bagged potting soil you can use? I can't think of anything much worse than plain peat moss to plant in. That's the first thing I would do. With a decent potting medium, you will be able to water properly.

• goddess9
    11 years ago

Peat will retain water for much longer than you'll want it to. Peat should really only be used to make heavier mixes for plants who like to stay a little more wet than usual.

That pot also looks too big for that baby.

• mesho
    Original Author
    11 years ago

thank you

so I should peapare a potting mix but please tell me what are the soil types and the ratio?

In my area where I live I can't find potting mix products . so I use peat moss only

about watering should I water my plant more often ?