Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
donnaz5

Question about grafting???

donnaz5
14 years ago

I am new to grafting, and would like to try it next spring. I have peach tree rootstock, can I graft a nectarine onto that? I have never seen nectarine rootstock anywhere, is that why? Or...are nectarines better on their own roots? Thanks, Donna

Comments (12)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    14 years ago

Donna: Peach and nectarine are kissing cousins. Barely any difference at all. Peach will work fine as a rootstock. Good luck with your grafting. What kind are you going to try? Have you budded peach or nectarine? If your grafts fail, you can bud onto the same stock later in the year. I learned by budding first. It is easier than grafting...in most cases anyway.

The Fruitnut

• jim123
    14 years ago

Peach rootstocks are fine for your use. Nectarines are a form of peach. When a branch of a tree produces a slight variation of the original fruit, such as deeper color or slightly different shape, it is called a "sport".

Nectarines and Peaches occasionally bear sports of each other. Nectarines are a fuzzless peach.

• theaceofspades
    14 years ago

Peach seedling is a more cold resistant rootstock, good for upstate NY. An extra vigorous one is better. You are at the upper limit where peaches can grow. If the nectarine is growing in your area then it has known cold resistance. What variety do you have and how big are the root stocks.

• donnaz5
    Original Author
    14 years ago

The nectarine is an old tree that is growing in my neighbor's yard..it has been there for at least 15 years, and always gives large ,juicy fruit, but we don't know the variety. The power company is going to cut it next summer, so I would like to try to graft it. As I said..I have never done it, but will give it a shot!