Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
adieblue_gw

Straw Sprouting in Lasagna Bed

adieblue
15 years ago

I'm new to lasagna gardening and I need some advice with a problem I have.

I created two flower beds last month using newspaper, leaves, compost, peat moss and straw. I didn't know anything about cleaning the straw before using it and now I have straw sprouting everywhere in both beds. I don't have anything planted in it yet. I'm imagining a nightmare scenario as the growing season continues and it becomes too much to pick out one by one. What can I do about this? Should I try and remove the straw and then replace the layers? I hate to undo my work, but I don't know if I'll be able to keep up with the straw seedlings.

Thanks for any help!

Comments (9)

• Kimmsr
    15 years ago

What is growing there is more of the straw you put down, so if you had Oat straw what is growing is Oats, not a problem.

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    15 years ago

Think of it as green manure.

Dan

• gardenlen
    15 years ago

yep just more nutrient for the garden bed hey, pull it and tuck it under or let it mature (it won't prolificate) and feed it to your pet birds.

len

Here is a link that might be useful: lens garden page

• adieblue
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Yes, it's oat straw. I guess if it's not going to overwhelm the beds, I'll just pick it out. Thanks for the help.

• arwmommy
    15 years ago

Hi, I have used straw for several years as walkway in the garden, and also as bedding for my chickens, which ends up in the garden beds, so I have a lot of experience with this. First, make sure you are getting STRAW not HAY. (I made a mistake once and learned my lesson!)