Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
whatkatydidva

organic pesticides?

WhatKatydid
10 years ago

Hi everyone! I am new here and this is my first post. I'm fairly new to growing my own veggies too. Last year I had my first garden which was a bit of an experiment. This year I'm paying more attention.
I refuse to use pesticides/insecticides and I have tried some homemade recipes I've found online (some from this site too!) But haven't had much luck.
Right now, my biggest nemesis' are aphids, colorado potato beetles and squash bugs. Does anyone have a tried and tested organic potion I can try on these things?! Picking them off is becoming overwhelming.

Thanks for any advice, and I hope to be able to share stories and ideas with you all! :)

Comments (14)

• Kimmsr
    10 years ago

Aphids are easily dispatched with sharp streams of water to knock them off the plant. Some believe this allows them to return which they do not. What appears is the next generation that wil then need to be knocked off.
    The Colorado Potato Beetle can be controlled with Bacillus Thuringiensis - tenebrionis in the early stage of life with Neem Oil products and Spinosad more potent and more broad spectrum followed on the scale of more potent and broad spectrum by pyrethrin products.
    Squash bugs are somewhat more complicated but Floating Row Covers early on can help. spraying with Kaolin clay can help, Neem Oil Products can help, Spinosad can help, as can pyrethrin products. Spinosad is very toxic to bees so due care in its use is necessary.

• SamWright
    10 years ago

As they feed, aphids excrete a sweet, sticky honeydew onto the leaves below. This allows a sooty mold to grow, which, in addition to being ugly to look at, blocks light from leaves. Also, some aphids spread viruses as they feed.

Spray aphids with insecticidal soap, summer oil (on tolerant plants), and homemade garlic sprays.