Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
miniplants

How to leave orchids while out of town and have them stay happy

I'm a newbie and I'd really appreciate hearing from window-growers about arrangements you have for maintaining your plants while you're out of town for 1-2 weeks. I have two very small tanks with miniature epiphytes mounted in sphagnum on mopane wood: "low-ish" light requirements; most with Phal-like needs; two needing to be continuously moist. So I'm particularly interested in what you do for your mounties.

Comments (8)

• bob8_gw
    9 years ago

I'm currently a green house grower but I would think that one of the ultrasonic misters from Kelly's corner would be a great solution. You can put it on a timer and have it only mist once a day for 15 minutes or many times a day for any number of minutes per cycle. That said, let me explain that I go on vacation twice a year for 3 weeks and keep my plants right out of flask in a clear storage container out of direct light with no watering (although they are planted in sphagnum moss) for the whole period and even longer periods in the winter. It is completely closed with no fans inside. It shouldn't work but works like a charm. Oh yea, it has a clear tops as well. I leave it in our front entrance way with a sheer curtain over the window and door.

• Darlene (GreenCurls)
    9 years ago

I am a partial window grower. The longest I have been away from my orchids is ten days. My vacations are generally during the cold months so i can get away from frozen Ohio. This also means most of my orchids are in some stage of rest. I generally just let them be with a couple of adjustments: all but 1fan are off, drop the temperature a little (to the low end of intermediate), where appropriate I take my mounties down and place them vertically, and fill the humdity trays. I have yet to lose one on vacation, but they are not always happy when i get back

I like the ultrasonic mister idea also.