Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
detroitchili

Help with using a Fluorescent light.

DetroitChili
13 years ago

Hi, I'm going to try starting some various chili plants out from seeds this year. I have already purchased a Burpee ultimate growing system. I'm planning on setting this up near a window and using a F15T8/AR/FS Fluorescent plant aquarium terrarium tube light bulb. The light if from an old fish tank set up that is not in use. My question is can this light work with seedlings or do I purchase another type of light for the sprouts?

I'm looking forward from hearing from you.

Comments (7)

• slowpoke_gardener
    13 years ago

I am getting ready to TRY to start pepper seed. I will be using bottom heat and T8 or T12 4 ft shop light. I have trouble with germination and the plants being too skinny and tall if I dont give them atleast one shop light about an inch above the plants. I have never used bottom heat before but I hope it will speed up germination.

I have three starting benches, one with one T12, 80 watts, one with two T12, 160 watts and one with two T8, with 128 watts. I would expect you will need a lot of help from the window, or you are starting only a few seeds. Larry

• noinwi
    13 years ago

Just a reminder...most pepper seeds like about 85 degrees bottom heat and some varieties need more time to germinate than others, so don't be discouraged if some sprout right away and others don't. Your patience will reward you. You will definitely need to place the seedlings as close to your lights as possible as soon as they sprout, so keep each variety in its own container/cell pack to make the task easier.

• noinwi
    13 years ago