Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ajpa_gw

soil on the acid side, new roses

ajpa
15 years ago

I'm a rose newbie and I will be planting 2 roses for the first time. I know my soil is on the acid side -- I haven't tested the spot the roses will go into, but right now it is sod, and another part of the yard that is sod tested at 5.8. It's azalea/blue hydrangea soil. Also somewhat heavy/clay.

For the roses I was planning on amending with some township compost (and maybe hay). What other stuff would be good?

Thanks!

Roses Unlimited (where I'm getting these roses) has a specific formula for planting, but I was wondering what your suggestions are also.

http://www.rosesunlimitedownroot.com/new_page_45.htm

Comments (5)

• mike_rivers
    15 years ago

One common recommendation for soil pH is 6.0 to 6.5 for roses. I wouldn't be concerned at all with a soil pH around 5.8. Planting time is your one good chance to improve soil structure with organic matter and most compost tends to raise the soil pH and also tends to make pH less critical in terms of plant availability of soil nutrients. The Roses Unlimited recommendation calls for about 50% organic matter (peat and compost combined). I wouldn't go above this ratio with more organic matter, you'll just get a lot of soil settling as the organic matter decomposes. You should also check and see what the pH of your township compost is. If they can't supply this number, maybe they don't know what they're doing. Also, unless you use lots of peat moss, I wouldn't add the cup of lime recommended by Roses Unlimited - that's just to neutralize the very acidic peat moss in their recipe.

• reg_pnw7
    15 years ago

I wouldn't add hay either, unless it's composted.