Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marylandmojo

Structure question

marylandmojo
13 years ago

This subject perplexes me, and I'm asking for help from someone brighter than me. I want to build a heated block wall. I have a good reason to do it--for a vining plant that can't tolerate temps below 20-25 degrees F.

Problem is, what's the best a cheapest way to heat a block wall reinforced (or filled) with pea-gravel grout? Would it be electric--same as some cement floors are heated, with temp controlled by a thermostat?

Or would it be hot water heat, where 1/2 inch pipe is installed as the wall is built, and temp controlled by a thermostat?

Wall will be 6 feet high and about 20 feet long. Please give me an intelligent suggestion or two. I'm so confused.

Comments (8)

• lazy_gardens
    13 years ago

Thinking as a landscaper, my first suggestion would be to change your choice of plants.

How many nights a year are you going to have to heat the wall? What are the record cold temps in your area - you have to build for the maximum.

You need something to hold the heat next to the plant, or else you will be trying to heat the whole back yard and your heating bills would be horrendous.

That means building a greenhouse sort of structure that covers the wall and plant. It might be easier to make a temporary greenhouse with a frost-cloth cover and lean it on the plant for the expected cold snaps. A 60-watt bulb at the base or a string of tiny Christmas lights is all you need to keep these things warmish.

• marylandmojo
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Hi, lazygardens:

Thanks for the time to put some thought into this. It has me somewhat stumped, but I know there's a sensible way to do it.

The plant I'm growing is relatively cold-tolerant, and can handle temps down to 20 degrees with little problem.