Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thepollywogpond

another pruning question

c2g
11 years ago

Always hesitant to prune, especially because I'm not experienced with it. A landscape architect was at my property recently discussing another matter when he noticed my white oak. He suggested taking off two branches so I don't end up with codominant leaders. The only problem is I don't remember which two.

Figured I'd run it by the experts here to get a second opinion. Although I tend to leave things grow as they please, I'd like to tackle this now if it's something obvious.

Here's the link http://imgur.com/a/LC1qH.

Thanks

Here is a link that might be useful: white oak

Comments (4)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

its very hard to understand .... from your pix.. which is the straighter.. in ALL PLANES OF VIEW ....

i would look at it from the east.. pic one.. from the west.. from the north.. etc.. and simply determine which is the straighter in regard to the lower trunk ..

regardless.. when that trunk is a foot thick.. it wont matter which you choose .....

i do see power lines behind.. now is the time.. to start lifting the canopy .... to get above those ... if they are as close as the pix make it seem ....

ken

• krnuttle
    11 years ago

Depending on how high that "Y" is I may cut the one that is at more of an angle to the horizontal than the other.

If this "Y" is 15 or more feet from the ground I may not touch it.

If it is 5 to 8 feet, I would probably cut it of.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    11 years ago