Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
john13_gw

Fragrance! Which roses do you HAVE to have?

john13
16 years ago

I have been reading on this forum that fragrance is really important to most of you. So, ... what roses, because of their fabulous fragrance, do you absolutely have to have in your garden?

I am new to roses and would like to find out your opinions.

Karen

Comments (100)

• katja1971
    16 years ago

It is so funny to read that Winchester Cathedral appears in some favorites lists. Here in Holland, where I live, I've had WC for years, and it does not have any scent at all!

My favs are:

- Sharifa Asma
    - Jude the Obscure
    - Crown Princess Margareta
    - Lady Emma Hamilton
    - Spirit of Freedom
    - Emanuel
    - Brother Cadfael
    - the Generous Gardener
    - Pat Austin
    - Gertrude Jekyl

• carla17
    16 years ago

Jude the Obscure
    Emanuel
    Mdme. de Sevigne
    Lemon Spice
    Duchesse de Brabant
    Ambridge Rose

Need more coffee to wake brain up

• fragrancenutter
    8 years ago

I am reviving this old thread which has some very good suggestions of fragrant roses. I was looking for Patrick (Molineux)'s list of fragrant roses which I have read many times before I started my fragrant collection but I can no longer find it on garden web. If someone has his list of fragrant roses maybe you wouldn't mind reposting it again? It's a list with a wealth of information.

Anyway here are the ones that are so consistently and strongly fragrant to my nose I can't do without:

firefighter

double delight

felicia

barbra streisand

memorial day

Frederic mistral

ebb tide

sonia Rykiel

fragrant cloud

• fragrancenutter
    8 years ago

Gertrude Jekyll also has an amazing fragrance but she is too stingy compared with the above list of roses for me to recommend.

• ingrid_vc so. CA zone 9
    8 years ago