Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linlily

Your experience with Jacob's Ladder bloom time

linlily
11 years ago

I received a piece of the lavender blue blooming Jacob's Ladder this spring in a trade. It is planted were it gets some sun and some shade every day of the year. I have little experience with it and after reading about the expected bloom time, I'm curious as to why mine has never stopped blooming. Right now, in spite of numerous hard freezes and frosts I still have a couple of flowers open at the very top of the plant.

Is this unusual for this plant? Maybe it has been very active this year because it was newly planted and may just bloom in the spring once established???? It does not seem to be oen of the new varieties I've seen in my travels, just the regular old Jacob's Ladder that everyone grows.

What has your experience been with this plant and can you share it? Thanks,
Linda

Comments (5)

• aachenelf z5 Mpls
    11 years ago

Mine pretty much bloom all summer if I deadhead them, although they don't seem to like the really, really hot weather (and drought) of midsummer which can slow down the flower production.

Kevin

• gardenweed_z6a
    11 years ago

Love Jacob's Ladder and have them planted in several beds where they get both sun & shade. My notes show they start blooming fairly early in spring but this year I noticed they continued to bloom randomly over the course of the growing season. They're easy to grow from seed via winter sowing--I set several new seed-grown plants in a half-sun/half-shade bed earlier this year and hope/expect they'll take off in the spring.

Plants were grown from winter sown commercial seed from Swallowtail as well as from seeds received in trade.

• linlily
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I didn't deadhead my plant this year, but will try to remember to do it next year, Kevin. Thanks for the advice.