Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luckylucy85

Rescued my neighbor's 100 year old roses, need help!

luckylucy85
11 years ago

I need help! I'm not new to gardening, but I'm new to roses. My elderly neighbor passed away, and the new homeowners just dug up all her roses and left them in the driveway. I just rescued them, and at the suggestion of my other neighbor, cut the stems back to about 3-5 inches each. They all seem to have most of the roots intact, but some have definitely gotten damaged in the process. The roots themselves are HUGE, which I guess makes sense.

I don't know what kind of roses these are. I know under the care of these new neighbors, they've done poorly and have looked lanky the last few years, but still bloom. I'm wondering what the best way is to help them survive the trauma, and if there's any tips on pruning so they look fuller instead of tall and spindly when they do come back.

Thanks! I'm new here :)

Comments (22)

• GatorRose
    11 years ago

First I would put them in big tubs of water, let them rehydrate, maybe for a day in the shade. Then I would plant them in nice large holes, don't try and stuff their root system in, dig the hole larger than the root ball. Throw some compost into the bottom of the hole, all the while filling the hole with water from your hose. Put the rose in backfill and tamp the ground in and around the rose to remove any air pockets. Then water in again, mulch heavy and water twice a day WELL. At this point you can't overwater. Do this until you see new growth and then cut back to once a day watering. If you miss a day with the water, it could be the game changer. You will have die back and probably a total loss of foliage. But this process has worked over a 30 yr experience of growing roses. Good Luck!

• jewelie6
    11 years ago