Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thenetdude

Help Identify this Tree and Disease?

thenetdude
11 years ago

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to gardening and just discovered that one of the trees next to our sidewalk seems to be severely affected by a disease of some kind. The tree was planted by the previous owners of the house so I have no idea what it is... maybe someone here could help identify it? I looked at some websites and my guess is that it's a Dogwood but can't be sure.

Attached is a picture of one of the leaves with a purple splotch on it, other leaves also have purple/black 'bruises' on their tips and edges. On the underside of the leaves, the bruises look like decaying blisters - so disturbing to look at that I took a picture but decided not to post it here.

Any help identifying the tree and/or it's disease would be appreciated!! Thanks a lot!

Comments (8)

• thenetdude
    Original Author
    11 years ago

And here is a picture of the tree...

• gardenapprentice
    11 years ago

First It is a Bradford Pear Tree, It looks like leaf scorch, due to the dry-hot year, just do regular watering, next year try to water regularly. But it dosent seem bad, but I'd reccomend you get a Dogwood tree (cornus Florida. Bradford are weak wooded and can be prone to multiple branches being ripped off from a severe wind storm, and they stink when they flower.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

hey ruby.. welcome to GW ...

we like to teach .. so come back often ...

i am relying on the prior ID ...

you will probably get a lot of abuse as to the prior owner choice of plants ... if you use the GW search function.. you might find a couple hundred posts about how bad these trees are ...

that said 2 things..

first.. its fall .. the leaves will be gone within a month or so.. IGNORE this COSMETIC problem ... as noted.. it comes and goes based on weather.. and ma natures whims.. it is NOT something you treat.. nor worry about ... especially on this aggressive weed ..