Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenjewels

What kind of BF?

greenjewels
16 years ago

I am a newbie. Just saw a dark colored BF with some yellow/orange dots and 2 "shoots" sticking off the end of its wings. What in the world is this? It was on my butterfly bush with a monarch.

Comments (13)

• mikem58
    16 years ago

Hi Greenjewels...Sounds like a Swallowtail from your description....Beyond that without a Pic, difficult to be certain?? Was is the same size as the Monarch?? or a tad smaller??
    Here are a few possibilities...Black Swallowtail, Eastern Tiger...Pipevine Swallowtail has orange spots on the underside of the hindwings?? Dark Phase female (Not as Likely). Check those out on line and see if photos look similar??

Cheers! mikem58

• mikem58
    16 years ago

hmmm. should have read..Eastern Tiger Swallowtail dark color phase female (not as likely) and then Pipevine Swallowtail which has orange spots on the underside of it's hindwings. My money would be on a Black Swallowtail if I had to bet...JMO

Cheers!

• butterflymomok
    16 years ago

Sounds like a black swallowtail. Here is a picture.

{{gwi:540351}}

• greenjewels
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks. I checked out the BF's suggested and I THINK it was a Pipevine Swallowtail. Wish it was still around so I could compare it to the pic. Next on my list is a good butterfly book. I believe one I saw recommended was Caterpillars of Eastern North America by David Wagner. I'm assuming it has pics of BFs, not just the cats. Any other suggestions?

• butterflymomok
    16 years ago

That is a great book. I just got one this summer and it's been invaluable at identifying cats.

You probably did see a Pipevine. Were the wings closed? Normally pipevine wings are moving super fast or are closed so you don't often see the upper wing surface. But when you get a glimpse of a male in flight or nectaring, the wings have iridescent blue--absolutely gorgeous!