Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenlady48_gw

Is it too late for 'Early Spring' prunning??

gardenlady48
18 years ago

I've grown Hagley Hybrid for a few years now and just learned it should be prunned hard to 12" late winter for early spring! I saw it had new leaf buds everywhere and thought it was okay to let go. I'm assuming it is still alright to go out and whack it back? will it bloom better?

Thanks for sharing any info in advance.

Pam

Comments (7)

• jeanne_texas
    18 years ago

Pam..since Hagley blooms on new wood...you can go ahead and prune to one inch above the first leaf axil...I did mine in Feb...and you are a colder zone than me..My Hagley is only about one foot tall now and just saw another vine pop outta the ground...Mine started later than normal for me?...Go figure....Jeanne

• heidibird
    18 years ago

Hi. I am new to growing clematis and bought and planted my first ones prior to doing any real research. *hanging head in shame* I bought a jackmanii and did not prune it this year. It has about 2 feet of dead looking wood and then about 3 feet of new vine growing from that. Should I still prune this back now or just wait until next year. If I prune it now, will it come back and bloom this year?
    Thanks!~Heidi

• opheliathornvt zone 5
    18 years ago