Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gamekeeper_gw

Fungus

gamekeeper
16 years ago

A couple of weeks ago after reading of the wonders of Clematis I could wait to RUN and buy some.Well my usual nursery was closed so I went to the local hardware store.They showed me what they had and it didn't look to good some a little better than others so being a pure compulsive I bought what appeared the best three.The fellow serving me acknowledged they weren't quite right the leaves had dark spots and didn't look like you would want.He said the owner watered them to much,take them home and feed them which I did but eventually I realized they had fungus,theyn don't look good between transplant and fungus etc do folks think they can make it with care?

Comments (6)

• shiao
    16 years ago

Hi: I am also new to clematis, but I am learning quickly. I know that they are very resilient, especially if they come with a sturdy size rootball. So, I assume yous do have nice size rootballs...so,

1) Make sure that you amend your soil wel, meaning mix lots of compost cow manure (not dehydrated form) or its equivilent to the whole bed befor you plant...really dig deep and turn everything/mix well.

2) you could add a handful of bonemeal to the mix, along with a handful of granulated lime if your soil is on the acidic side. But I hear this lime is not all that necessary. But your bed must be well draining.

3) Dig a huge and very deep hole...bury the baby clematic at least 4 inches from where the soil line was in its pot. Before you plant, try to pull the roots out away from the ball...soaking it in water for 15 minutes can also be beneficial.