Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kjlyttle

frog poop on window ledge

kjlyttle
16 years ago

Does anyone else have this problem? I can try to post a picture if anyone really wants to see...

I know its frogs, actually - it's large tree frogs that sit in my window ledge at night and poop. Not only does it stain my window ledge (which I am not terribly concerned about) it runs down the wall below the window and that stains. I have a beautiful back yard and I enjoy sitting in it (especially with the 4 screech owls) but when I see the frog poop running down the house, it irks me. I have tried scrubbing it and it doesn't come off. I love having the tree frogs in my yard, but I just wish they would choose another place to rest. Does anyone have any suggestions for either cleaning the poop off my house or for deterring them from my window ledges?

Thanks so much!

K

Comments (13)

• zozzl
    16 years ago

I have some experience with bird poop and I have always had to use very hot water with dish soap for that. Maybe after you get it cleaned up you could coat it with vaseline and then it would be easier to clean up?

• tony_k_orlando
    16 years ago

I have sliding doors on my porch and they are made of some sort of tinted Plexiglas. Nothing is supposed to harm them., Yeah Right. That tree frog poop if not gotten off asap will just about destroy the Plexiglas. I have one spot that is unreal.

No offense TreeFrog, I have been wondering why you chose that name?

They are a pain.

• abendwolke
    16 years ago

they seem to like the light. No light, and they won't sit and poop . I guess you have to sit in the dark in that room ;-)

• treefrog_fl
    16 years ago

Not at all sure I want to get involved in this discussion.

• kjlyttle
    Original Author
    16 years ago