Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
northbeach_gw

Pressure canning Potatoes

northbeach
14 years ago

Hi

I'm a novice canner and have a question. I think I have a good handle on pressure canning all but 1 thing. What is meant by "adjust the lids" in the online instructions I intend on following?

Comments (54)

• digdirt2
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Is this something new?

Nope, not new. FAIK it has always been that way because of the botulism risk associated with the peels.

But I just checked the BBB in 1978 (the oldest edition I still have) and it says to peel first. I would hazard the bet that it existed long before that but Linda Lou may know for sure.

Dave

• Linda_Lou
    14 years ago

I really don't know for sure how long that has been the safety rule. As far back as I have been canning, in the early 1970's, I know that was how it was then.
    If you want to keep the potatoes firm, more like store canned ones, add some Pickle Crisp/aka calcium chloride to the jars. I used 3/4 tsp. per pint.

• wordwiz
    14 years ago

I canned several quarts of potatoes last year and plan to do 48 or more this season. IMO, the idea of peeling spuds is completely wrong and has no purpose except to get rid of the most nutritious part of the veggie.

That being said, I don't open the jar, drain the water and eat the potato. It gets fried in a skillet, baked, deep fried - basically heated to a temp that will kill any botulism. But don't take my word - the Centers for Disease Control says pressure canning will kill the bot spores. It takes It takes 25 minutes at 212 degrees to kill them, but pressure canning (which allows the temperature to rise above 212) can lower that to 20 minutes.

So don't throw the very best part of the potato into the compost pile! And don't waste time peeling them!

Mike

• ksrogers
    14 years ago

Canning potato threads

Here is a link that might be useful: Recent canning potato threads

• Linda_Lou
    14 years ago