Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annafl_gw

What veggies are you planting right now?

annafl
14 years ago

I still have space in my garden. What are you planting? I am still learning about when to plant what. Please tell.

Anna

Comments (21)

• saldut
    14 years ago

Hi - I just planted abt. 8 tomato plants, from Home Depot.. in pots, because nematodes attack the roots here in Fla. Also I planted 2 Pepper plants, also in pots.... I used the mix recommended by Tom and Al, but a good Miracle-Gro potting mix would prob. work OK for a few things.... I got Beefmaster, Big Boy, Yellow Pear tomato plants, and a sweet Bell Pepper also a Yellow Pepper, sweet..... also I just planted 3 Red Lady papaya in the ground, they are shorter than the usual papaya.... now is the time to start planting most of the veggies you want to grow, but wait until it cools off a bit more for lettuce and plants that require cooler temps., we are awfully hot right now it's a longer than usual summer.... sally

• amberroses
    14 years ago

I have lots of tomatoes planted. Most of them are in pots but I had so many I am trying some in the ground. I grew them from seed and felt bad trashing the extras. I have some green beans, cucumbers, watermelon (probably too late for you to start now), carrots, and lettuce all planted in pots. I started the lettuce during the cold snap and then it got hot again.

• tomncath
    14 years ago

I'm successioning more tomatoes, pole beans, cukes and zukes now.... Just starting some broccoli, lettuces, and radishes and will start some onions and super sugar snap peas probably 11/15.

Tom

• imagardener2
    14 years ago

Not strictly veggies but...planting dill, fennel for cooking and the butterflies and basil for us and the bees.
    And now that it's getting less HOT adding some collards which did very well last year.

Denise

• neon9
    14 years ago