Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bookjunky4life

Grape Propogation a Success!

bookjunky4life
14 years ago

Last fall I researched how to take grape cuttings like in December. I then put two nodes down in the soil and left one above the soil. I planted them in a kitty litter jug so I could keep a closer eye. Now I have a bud coming on two of them for sure and possibly a third. There are about eight altogether. I hope a few more make it but I'd be happy with what I have. Especially since I moved a month ago and had to leave the grape vines.

Comments (9)

• yiorges-z5il
    14 years ago

The swelling &/or bud opening is not PROOF that roots have formed..... Give a light tug on the stem if resistance the roots have formed..... its not to late for roots to form on the other cuttings do not give up....

• Suzi AKA DesertDance So CA Zone 9b
    14 years ago

I hope they all live for you! I think it takes quite a while for roots to form. This is my first year for cuttings also. I read that they do need warmth to leaf out. I have planted about 180 dormant cuttings in two different ways. One half like yours, with only a couple buds showing above the soil in a 3/1 perlite/peat mix. I keep them moist, and try to keep them warm. The rest of them are outside in the vineyard laying in a 1.5" trench, covered with loose soil. Our weather is warming up, so I'll be very happy if even 25% of my cuttings take.

I plan to leave the ones in their pots that live for at least 2 or 3 months before replanting them so I'm sure they have roots. Those in the vineyard will stay in the vineyard until they go dormant again. Then, I'll dig them up and put them where I want them. I had 17 varietals, and it was tough labeling all of them, especially the ones lying flat in the vineyard!!

Let us know how things go!
    Suzi

14 years ago