Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
techiestar_gw

Clueless new owner of rose bushes

techiestar
15 years ago

Hi all. I'm completely new to the gardening thing. The roses, about 7 different bushes, came with the new house I bought. 2 bushes were drastically overgrown. I took the first step and pruned them all back to a healthier state today. While at it, I noticed so much that I have questions about. One, some of them were partially rotted at the root. Being so overgrown, is that normal to an extent? I do live in the rainy area of WA. Second, each rose bush is completely different, and some looked really unhealthy, but still kicking. Would you recommend a good fertilizer? Maybe something that would help get them healthy again? Thanks!

Comments (3)

• Kimmsr
    15 years ago

The first thing is to dig into your soil and see what you have. The only reason any plants roots would rot would be because the soil they are planted in is constantly too wet, a drainage issue. Contact the local office of your Washington State University USDA Cooperative Extension service about having a good, reliable soil test done so you know what your soils pH and nutrient levels are, then dig in with these simple soil tests,
    1) Structure. From that soil sample put enough of the rest to make a 4 inch level in a clear 1 quart jar, with a tight fitting lid. Fill that jar with water and replace the lid, tightly. Shake the jar vigorously and then let it stand for 24 hours. Your soil will settle out according to soil particle size and weight. A good loam will have about 1-3/4 inch (about 45%) of sand on the bottom. about 1 inch (about 25%) of silt next, about 1 inch (25%) of clay above that, and about 1/4 inch (about 5%) of organic matter on the top.