Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
davric007

Green Mold, Other Fungus and fertilizer

davric007
17 years ago

I'm new to gardening and my last attempt at growing tomatoes went badly. All my plants died of fungus or lack of nutrients, I'm not too sure what. Anyway, I've decided I want to try it again. I live in Thailand and it's pretty hot and humid here and rains quite often but just for short periods of time. About 1-2 hour(s) of rain every 2 days. My plants are growing on top of my roof so they get plenty of sunlight all day long. Some are in 10, 5 and 3 gallon tubs. I thought I'd experiment with the tub size. I water them 1 time per day in the evening at sundown. I'm using sterilized potting soil and I mixed natural fertilizer, bat dropping, puromice oxegen power and sand with the soil and I placed some rock and sand at the bottom of each pot to get better drainage. I am growing Big Beef tomatoes.

Here are my questions:

1. My plants are 2 weeks old and look great this time but I just now started to get green mold growing on the soil. I don't want these plants to die like the last so I bought some funguscide. I bought ORTOCIDE 50 and PENNCOZEB. I scraped off the green mold with a putty knife and mixed 1/16 Tsp ORTHOCIDE and 1/16 Tsp PENNCOZEB (JUST A PINCH OF EACH) to 4 cups water and misted the top of the soil in each pot. I also misted the plants just a little. I've decided I would like to do this 1 time per week because of the green mold and fungus problem due to the high humidity. Is this ok? Please give me some suggestions on what to do. Also, can I mix just a little in my watering pot to kill fungus down around the roots? I was also thinking of putting a layer of sand on top of the soil in each pot to stop the green mold. Do you have any suggestions on this also?