Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
georgede_gw

NewBuild Inspection Needed?

georgede
15 years ago

Our new home is near finished. Should we pay an inspector to check it out before closing? The broker says no because town inspectors check everything. I'm thinking there's a lot that doesn't have to do with code that a pro can spot.

The builder has an excellent reputation, but a few people have told be he's a bit of a bean counter when it comes to cutting corners.

I'm not very good at noticing details like an improperly installed wood floor.

WHat do you think? How do I find a quality inspector anyway?

Comments (8)

• sierraeast
    15 years ago

Town inspectors aren't going to check the quality of the workmanship as a rule. Their concern is that codes are met and the build is safe.

One avenue is to find a reputable but retired builder who will be unbiased and do a quality control check of the various trades workmanship. You can get referalls from suppliers, realtors, sub contractors who have done business with a builder who has an excellent reputation in and around the area and they know his works from the past.

another avenue is a reputable home inspector.

• meldy_nva
    15 years ago

Follow sierraeast's advice -- you really should have at least one non-partisan and knowledgeable outsider looking closely at what's been done. Town inspectors are looking only for compliance with local/state code, and most codes are safety-oriented and not at all concerned with quality! i.e. if the chimney is properly tiled, they couldn't care less if the hearth is missing a brick or two.

And don't close out/pay off the builder until everything on the checklist (aka punch list) has been completed. Once he's paid off, anything remaining to be done goes to the basement beneath the bottom of his to-do list. The broker is not your pal in this matter -- he wants everything done and over; being sure that things are done right does not speed the checks to the bank.