Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bluehaven_gweb

Roses from highcountry roses - really disappointed

bluehaven_gweb
9 years ago

I received my roses from highcountryroses today. It is just a stick in a little bit of soil. So disappointed. I was expecting something a little more well rooted.

Comments (17)

• cecily
    9 years ago

Those look like normal bands to me, I'd be okay with those.

• Kippy
    9 years ago

What did your get?

• bluehaven_gweb
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I wanted to try some hybrid musk roses. I got Ballerina and Gartendirektor otto linne.

• bluehaven_gweb
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I am new to ordering roses from online sources. I guess, I am used to the bare root & potted roses from the local nurseries. But for the price, shipping & the wait, these didn't meet my expectations.

• smithdale1z8pnw
    9 years ago

I've ordered quite a few roses from there, they've all survived & thrived, give them time, in my experience HM's are tough roses, in 2 years they should be doing nicely.

Jane

• kingcobbtx7b
    9 years ago

rarely if ever is ordering a rose going to be cheaper then buying one from a respectable nursery. The advantage is in getting varieties you can't find where you are. That is the only reason I order a rose.

Some places ( antique rose emporium) ship big plants already potted up, but most only ship a decent sized plant if it is bare root.

• sultry_jasmine_nights (Florida-9a-ish)
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I think of these sizes of plants as rooted cuttings. I have bought many from RVR and Heirloom and they are all doing well so far. It would be a surprise if you weren't used to getting them though. I order tropical plants from Wellspring Gardens Nursery which are just 2 inch pot tiny starts from tissue culture, for the most part, so I am used to starting out small with mail order plants.