Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gavinhall

Just bought a house. Need help identifying trees!

gavinhall
9 years ago

Hello all,

I have no real knowledge of tree types and would like to ask if anyone can help identify these types of tree based on these photos. Ive numbered the three I'm trying to identify.

Admittedly these pictures are a lower resolution than id intended so if necessary ill take a few close ups later on of the leaves and trunk.

Thanks in advance to whoever can offer help!

Comments (27)

• davidrt28 (zone 7)
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Right off the bat I see a few specimens of 'Arbus minima-proxima domus'.

• Huggorm
    9 years ago

Number 2 and 3 are some kind of pine, closer pics are needed for positive ID. Number 1 is interesting, I'm guessing dawn redwood from the shape but those reddish buds are strange

gavinhall thanked Huggorm
  • ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

need to know where the house is ... zone.. etc ... to get beyond the guesses provided..

as well as pix of the buds.. leaves later... and perhaps the bark ...

is gavin hall the name of your new castle.. lol ...

ken

gavinhall thanked ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
  • gavinhall
    Original Author
    9 years ago

The house is in Northern Kentucky. Ill go take some close ups and post them so we can narrow it down. Your feedback is fantastic thank you!

• User
    9 years ago

You should find a local nursery and hire someone to come to your property and tell you exactly what you have and how to properly care for them. You can also get ideas of adding or subtracting from what's there, annuals, perennials etc.

We did this and the experience was invaluable.

GORGEOUS house and property!!

gavinhall thanked User
  • Toronado3800 Zone 6 St Louis
    9 years ago

I am going to vote for a maple with good structure for #1.