Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pippacovalent

Well what a great surprise

pippacovalent
5 years ago

I am new to roses and bought a house with a lot of them, and today found this lovely surprise...I'll add photo in comments. I didn't realize the cool weather would bring on more blooms, this is exciting.

Comments (19)

• pippacovalent
    Original Author
    5 years ago

• pippacovalent
    Original Author
    5 years ago

It doesn't really have a scent and I have no clue the name, but it's so pretty! The new foliage on the plants is a lovely burgandy color which was really pretty with the light pink and white rose.

• pippacovalent
    Original Author
    5 years ago

I have no clue what the name is, it came with my house. I had not noticed any buds and was shocked to walk by it today and spot this beautiful rose.

• Karen R. (9B SF Bay Area)
    5 years ago

Pippa, you may also find that the color of some of your roses (especially lighter pinks / near whites) may change color from hot to cold weather. I have quite a few that are near white in the summer heat, but turn either apricot or pink in the colder weather.

That bloom is beautiful. Wishing many more surprises for you.

pippacovalent thanked Karen R. (9B SF Bay Area)
  • BenT (NorCal 9B Sunset 14)
    5 years ago

A very nice bloom. My guess would be Pristine , which is also known for its burgundy foliage

http://www.helpmefind.com/rose/l.php?l=2.2264

pippacovalent thanked BenT (NorCal 9B Sunset 14)
  • Kristine LeGault 8a pnw
    5 years ago

At first I thought that it might be Diana Princess of Wales but I believe that one has a really strong fragrence

pippacovalent thanked Kristine LeGault 8a pnw
  • seil zone 6b MI
    5 years ago

It's lovely no matter what it is. My suggestion is to dig carefully around the base for a small metal tag. Alot of roses came with tags earlier and that got buried over time.

pippacovalent thanked seil zone 6b MI
  • pippacovalent
    Original Author
    5 years ago