Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_9548191037255351

help with new orchids

Sara T
5 years ago
I recently got 4 phils currently in bloom. I’m new to orchid care, but have read up on the basics. The leaves on this particular plant look the worst. Yellow/bronzing, curling, sticking up. What do you think is causing this? I bought new plastic pots that are a size bigger, along with new orchid potting mix. Not sure if I should repot now or wait until flowers die?

Comments (13)

• Photo Synthesis
    5 years ago
    last modified: 5 years ago

The leaves grow like this due to the way that they're grown at the greenhouses. They keep them in a cylindrical plastic sleeve, so that the leaves spread upwards, instead of outwards. Nothing to concern yourself with. I would give them all a good drink, while avoiding getting the leaves wet. Room temperature water.

• John B
    5 years ago

I noticed that the roots inside your pot are white. I think this is a sign of under-watering, and could explain why the leaves are curling. PS, wait until the flowers are gone before repotting.

• Sara T
    Original Author
    5 years ago
    Thanks for responding. When you say don’t get leaves wet, do you mean ever? I thought I’ve read to spray leaves frequently to help with humidity but avoid crown. My orchid fertilizer also says to wet foliage. Is this a no-no?
    Sadly I noticed signs of spider mites on several houseplants today. I’m hoping I’m paranoid about the orchids but there’s definitely a chance they already have them since they were on close proximity. Any specific treatments you recommend or a preventive?
  • myermike_1micha
    5 years ago

If you can avoid getting the leaves wet then do it, unless of course you have a good fan directed at them that can dry the water off before night fall.

If mine get wet, the water on the leaves usually dries off shortly after watering them due to good air movement. I forgot about that last year and lost one to crown rot.

Mike