Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kitty_fra

Curb appeal to sell this home

kitty_fra
4 years ago

I'm a realtor. This home is in a rural area of Kansas. I'm the 7th realtor to try and get it sold. It's very high quality, custom built by a fantastic contractor - but with no architect or design person involved.

What stands out to you? More important in the immediate future - what could I possibly do quickly and easily to boost the curb appeal? This is the front side of the house - which I am now learning is backwards from what would be expected. There are no neighbors in any direction within view.

Something is off kilter. Those are huge flat rocks used as borders for planting but they don't come across as beautiful. Other huge stacks of those same rocks (maybe 20 feet high) are on the property as points of interest.

Comments (107)

• elunia
    4 years ago

• PRO
    Yardvaark
    4 years ago

I didn't see the other pictures being talked about, but based on the outside it does look like the hunting cabin that many have mentioned. Most of the real fixes would be quite expensive, but a couple of cheap things could be done to help. For one, it looks completely utilitarian/government-project to have the trim be the same color as the house. some white paint on the railing and posts would help to add a little interest and cheeriness.

It would drive me crazy to have downspouts with extensions on them like that. It looks horrid. They need a clean re-configuration.

The lack of proper approach would be a considerable turn-off but that would involve some $$$.

I chuckled at the suggestion of linking to this thread for those who wanted to fulfill their personal "dreams" in the manner they saw fit, in spite of their ideas being "unconventional." That should be a reminder to those who advise, "It's your property ... do as you please. Let the naysayers be damned!" Resale day eventually comes.

• tatts
    4 years ago
    last modified: 4 years ago