Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
denise_m37

Black Amaryllis Bulb Normal?

Denise M
4 years ago

I am recently new to amaryllis bulbs. I just got three of them and two look normal but the other has turned red and is now turning black. The bulb feels firm and there is a flower that is growing and another flower that is just starting to show but I am just concerned about the color of the bulb. As I said, I am new to amaryllis so I am not sure if some bulbs turn black while others turn brown. Has anyone had this happen before? Below are pictures of how it looked when I first got it and then how it looks now. Is this just the normal process of the outer layer changing colors like they typically do or could this be something else?

Comments (8)

• Photo Synthesis
    4 years ago

I wouldn't worry about it. As the plants grow, they shed the outer layers as a dried up paper-y like skin. Sometimes that's happened to mine and I just ignore it. At the end of the warm summer months, as the bulbs begin to go dormant, that's when I'll peel away most of it, leaving only the last.

One thing worth noting is yours need watered. Take the pot and pour more than enough water to flush it out, until it's flowing out from the bottom drainage holes. These plants need a good amount of water, especially while they're in bloom. Your plants' soil looks way too dry.

Denise M thanked Photo Synthesis
  • Denise M
    Original Author
    4 years ago

Thank you for the advice. I am new to amaryllis and plants in general. I am still trying to figure out the healthy balance of just enough water, not over or under watered. I had three small amaryllis last year and ended up overwatering them, which attracted a bunch of fungal gnats and destroyed one of the bulbs.

Just wanted to make sure it wasn’t trying to rot or develop red blotch. So I will continue to care for it and make sure they have plenty of water.

• Denise M
    Original Author
    4 years ago
    last modified: 4 years ago