Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grow_power87

Please help me get started

Hi all:

Ok, I am very new to this, and have been trying to read through forum posts, but it's pretty overwhelming and I feel so lost.

Here is my situation: We are building out a new kitchen where there was none. I am looking at purchasing a range, dishwasher and fridge. I have some sort of idea of what to look for in a dishwasher (quietness, speed) and a fridge (capacity), but I have really no idea what I am looking for in a range. I cook A LOT, but I have always been a make do sort of person and have been able to cook meals for a ton of people on the old jenn air cooktop we have, so I am not sure what special features that are out there.

I know the range has to be 30 inches, and I would like a duel fuel for an electric oven. I don't want induction. My husband said he wanted bigger burners, "more fire" were his exact works. What else should I be looking at ?? Reading through the forums, it seems like I should be looking at BTUs, and burner shapes and XXXX ???

For example, what is the real difference btw something like this LG and this KitchenAid?? There's 1k difference. Is it the baking drawer? The slightly more capacity? Slightly higher BTU? All of it?

Please teach me. Oh, and my budget is about 2-3K for the range. And if you have any suggestions for what else I should look for in a dishwasher /fridge, I will take that advice too. Thank you!!

Comments (5)

• pennfire
    3 years ago

“My husband said he wanted bigger burners, "more fire" were his exact works“

big gas burners = the need for a vent hood that can handle the heat/exhaust needs. I have a 36” wolf at my house with An appropriately sized hood and a 30” kitchen aid at my cabin with an undersized hood. It is a world of difference.